Schizophrenic Melodies

Post # 9

I’ve been a fan of quality Bluegrass ever since a friend of mine left his Hot Rize tape in my car 13 years ago.  I’ve never been able to find many bluegrass records here in Wisconsin, though.  I did make a pretty sweet score a couple of months ago however, and here it is!  I found 4 different 45’s, all of them 4-song compilation EP’s put out by OAK Records from Ohio in 1962.  Each of the records have an overbearing Christian/Gospel theme to the music.  I could tell that they were obviously some kind of country music in the store, and I held out hope that they might just be Bluegrass so I bought all of them.  The most promising sign was that three of the records had songs by The Eastern Kentucky Boys, which just had to be Bluegrass.

So I eagerly listened to them, and it turns out that 6 of the 16 songs on those four records are some rip-snortin’ gospel bluegrass numbers.  Unfortunately, the other 9 songs are terrible gospel country. I mean terrible.   But, like I said, the fast bluegrass tunes are seriously awesome.  I’m pretty sure you won’t find these tracks anywhere else, so enjoy!

http://www.mediafire.com/?idmq0d1gmcj

I’m only posting the Bluegrass tunes, not the country ones, so don’t worry!  If you want to hear the other tunes, than these records are for sale, leave a comment!!

