Eat Cheese Or Die

Post # 9

Inspector 12 – Jack EP 1991

I think this record may have been the very first punk 7″ I ever held in my hands.  I remember that a few of my friends saw this band play and were totally stoked on them, and then they showed me this record, and probably played it for me (if they had a turntable…).  That may or may not be a real memory, but I was stoked when my wife found this record for me!  I definately remember that Inspector 12 (who were from Madison, Wisconsin) were the first independent, local, original rock band that I’d ever heard of.  That was at least 16 years ago, but the first time I can be sure that I’ve heard their music was just a couple of months ago!

The music on this 7″ is pretty much a 50/50 hardcore/thrash mix.  Just how I like it!  The first song, which features a sweet classic thrash riff, is definately the hit.  The rest of the tracks are all pretty good, and thankfully only slightly dated sounding.  I know they put out a few other records, and maybe a tape or two.  I would not be the least surprised to hear that some of the dudes from this group are still kickin’ around playing bar shows in Beloit…

I think that most of the lovely pics above were also taken by this lady

This is classic Wisconsin hardcore, so check it out!