Eat Cheese Or Die

post # 11

 Who Gives a Shit about Asinine Solution?

Asinine Solution - Cause Effect EP

Asinine Solution – Cause Effect EP 1998

Raging Wisconsin hardcore from Chippewa Falls; Asinine Solution.  I remember seeing their ‘My Dad’s A Goat’ EP in record bins in the mid 90’s, but I never decided to buy it (mostly because of the hideous cover art). I first heard this particular 7 inch a couple of years ago, when I first moved to Milwaukee.  I had just seen a show at a local scum pit basement, and was too fucked up to drive back home, so I was hangin’ out and Scott put this record on the turntable. I flipped out over the thrashin’ tunes and was determined to find a copy of this record for myself.  It didn’t take long before I had discovered all three of Asinine Solution’s 7 inches, all in different bargain bins, all for a grand total of less than $2.50.

This is their third, and I’m pretty sure their last, record.  The seven tunes here all follow the same pattern of simplistic hardcore played as loud and fast as possible. I like it! Sure, the songs mostly sound the same, but so what? This ain’t Jazz, it’s punk!

Most of the songs on this disc are about “The Punk Rock Scene”.  It’s interesting to think about how much was going on within this obscure musical cult in these small towns out in the country. There is even a full page essay about The Punk Rock Scene included in this record!  It certainly made a huge impact on these people’s lives.  Here’s an interesting write up of how to put out a punk record, from an insert:

Also some more info about what these dudes where doing back then.  I’ve found copies of the other records he mentions, so be on the look out.  The first Asinine Solution record is awesome, by the way.  Totally retarded teen-punk; it’s great.

Anyway, this is a classic Wisconsin hardcore record, so don’t miss it!